Welcome to the Department of Inspections     
Welcome to the Department of Inspections     

Department of Inspections

Page Navigation 

Department of Inspections

Telephone:  201-529-5757   Ext. 5

Fax:  201-512-0537 

Open 8:00 am to 4:00pm
Monday - Friday


Officials
Daniel Mairella - Construction Official/Building Sub Code Official
Ext. 241 Email:  DMairella@mahwahtwp.org  

John Lane - Assistant Construction Official/Electric Sub Code Official
Ext. 239 Email  
JLane@mahwahtwp.org 

Jim Zaconie -  P/T 
Fire Sub Code Inspector
Ext 240 Email:  JZaconie@mahwahtwp.org                                                

Russell Hall - Plumbing Sub Code Official                                                                            
Ext. 236 Email:  RHall@mahwahtwp.org 

Adam Slufik - Building Inspector
Ext.237 Email:  ASlufik@mahwahtwp.org

Support Staff  
Kathy Forkins - Technical Assistant to the Construction Official
Ext. 233 Email:  KForkins@mahwahtwp.org
 
Pam Treadwell -  Principal Clerk
Ext. 284  Email:  PTreadwell@mahwahtwp.org

Peter George - Principal Clerk
Ext. 235 Email:  PGeorge@mahwahtwp.org

 


The Permit  

A permit is required to construct, enlarge, repair, renovate, alter, reconstruct or demolish a structure, or change the use of a building or structure, or portion there of; or to install or alter any equipment.  For the following forms click on the link below for access to the Department of Community Affairs (DCA) website:    

         http://www.state.nj.us/dca/divisions/codes/resources/constructionpermitforms.html 

                UCC-F110 - Building Permit Application
                UCC-F120 - Electrical Permit Application
                UCC-F130 - Plumbing Permit Application
                UCC-F140 - Fire Permit Application
                UCC-F145 - Mechanical Permit Application
                UCC-F270 - Certification of Occupancy Application
                UCC-F370 - Chimney Verification for Replacement of Fuel-Fired Equipment
                UCC-F390 - Framing Check List

All sub code permit applications may also be obtained at the Building Department or on this website.  Permit applications can be downloaded from our website,  but a manila jacket must be filed with the applications and this must be obtained from the Building Department.   A Construction Permit Chart (Permit Application Requirements List) shows what permits are needed for each project.  If you have a project and are not sure it needs a permit, call the Building Department .  Do not assume it does not need a permit even if it is not on the Permit Application Requirements list, or your neighbor or contractor says it does not. Doing work without permits and inspections can be a hazard to your health and safety of your family. In addition penalties can be issued.              

                                                                                 

KEY INFORMATION
CERTIFICATION OF OCCUPANCY AND CONTINUED OCCUPANCY
THE INSPECTIONS
PERMIT PROCESS
UNIFORM CONSTRUCTION CODE
CONSTRUCTION - ZONING PERMIT APPLICATION
GENERATOR PERMIT APPLICATION CHECKLIST
TENANT APPLICATION WITH CHECKLIST